top of page
  • Writer's pictureErica Sharp

Coffee Table Books...for reading too!

Coffee table books are a staple in creating that lived in, professionally decorated home. They are that one item you can keep out all year around, and you just change the accessories around them! I tend to like large, hardcover and neutral spine books as they create the best backdrop for your other table top accessories.


As you may or may not know, I am not a huge reader so for me a book really has to speak to me visually and that is simply enough.



It is important to make sure you have varying sizes, thickness of the spines and textures to create that designer look. Coffee table books are a great investment and although they may seem expensive, they are very versatile. They can be used on their own, or can add height and weight your coffee table, and don't forget, if they are actually good books - they may even be read!



Once you find the books that speak to your, or look good make sure to follow these tips for perfect styling.

  1. Always stack in odd-numbered groupings, three will always work!

  2. With a round coffee table, think of the surface as a triangle stacking a grouping of books in one corner, a floral arrangement or succulent in another and balance it with a tray with a larger candle and decorative beads in the other.

  3. With a square coffee table, opt for quadrants or simply stack a single tier in the centre and add a clear vase with draping greens.

  4. Try layering with a few books and a dramatic statement on top - like a sculptural piece or hand-crafted ceramic bowl.


Pro Tip: if the jacket of the books is too colourful, ugly or just doesn't seem right - take it off! Most books have a beautiful natural colour spine, which looks stunning all on its own.



You can find great coffee tables almost anywhere! Amazon.ca probably has the best prices, Indigo.ca has a really good assortment and most trendy books and used book stores have some stunning rare finds. I actually found my favourite 2 coffee table books I have while cleaning out my grandma's place after her passing. They are personal, beautiful, neutral and remind me every day of her when I see them.


Take a look at my top 10 favourite coffee table books.





I just love the collection of Kinfolk books, this one practices the art of slow living.


I mean who dosen't love everything this woman does?


The most popular styling book - to be honest I don't think I have ever opened it, but Iliterally use it in EVERY job!


One of my favourite designers, her style is sophisticated and radiating


Humans of New York by Brandon Stanton

A photographic census of New York City. I got this for my brother one year for Christmas and is absolutely fascinating!


For the Love of White by Chrissie Rucker

Because you can never go wrong with White!


The Things That Matter by Nate Berkus

I just love Nate Berkus - his values and style and this book shares intimate stories from his life, introduces us to people who influenced him.


A Tree In The House by Annabelle Hickson

Part guide for the aspiring home florist, part ode to rural interiors and buildings, this book is inspiring in so many ways


You don't need a huge budget to create a beautiful, mindful home.


How to make any book good --> add dogs!



Happy reading...or stacking!


e.



22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page